Crib and Car Seat Programs

Cribs for Kids
The Cudahy Health Department provides a crib or Newborn Nest to families expecting a newborn and are at least 36 weeks pregnant or have a child under 6 months old. This program is available for Cudahy residents who are in need of a safe sleep space for their child.  Please call (414) 769-2239 for more detailed information.

Donations are encouraged and appreciated to maintain the Cribs for Kids Program.


thank-youThe Cudahy Health Department would like to give a big THANK YOU to the Cudahy Lions Club for their donation to our Cribs for Kids Program!


cribs for kids flyer half sheet
Child Passenger Safety Seat 
(Car Seats) Program 

Is your child properly restrained in his or her child safety seat?  Is the seat correctly installed? 
More than 80% of child safety seats are installed or used incorrectly.

The Cudahy Health Department offers child safety seat (car seat) inspections by appointment every other Friday morning each month.  This service is available to Cudahy residents.  Please schedule your inspection appointment by calling (414) 769-2239.  

Visit the Ultimate Car Seat Guide Website for customized information and tips to keep your child safe in the car! 

The child safety seat inspections are performed by a certified child passenger safety technician. The technician provides guidance in choose the type of child safety seat for the child based on their height and weight.  They will assist the parent or caregiver with the proper installation of the seat, as well as how to properly restrain the child in the child safety seat.


Donations are encouraged and appreciated to maintain the child safety seat program. 

Resurces:
Ultimate Car Seat Guide
Wisconsin Passenger Safety Law
Car Seat Safety and Safe Kids Southeast Wisconsin


This graphic explains when to use a car seat, booster seat or seat belt. REAR-FACING CAR SEAT: Birth up to Age 2* Buckle children in a rear-facing seat until age 2 of when they reach the upper weight or height limit of that seat. FORWARD-FACING CAR SEAT: Age 2 up to at least age 5* When children outgrow their rear-facing seat, they should be buckled in a forward-facing car seat until at least age 5 or when they reach the upper weight or height limit of that seat. BOOSTER SEAT: Age 5 up until seat belts fit properly* Once children outgrow their forward-facing seat, they should be buckled in a booster seat until seat belts fit properly. The recommended height for proper seat belt fit is 57 inches tall. SEAT BELT: Once seat belts fit properly without a seat belt. Children no longer need to use a booster seat once seat belts fit them properly. Seat belts fit properly when the lap belt lays across the upper thighs (not the stomach) and the shoulder belt lays across the chest (not the neck). Keep children ages 12 and under in the back seat. Never place a car seat in front of an active air bag. *Recommended age ranges for each seat type vary to account for differences in child growth and height/weight limits of car seats and booster seats. Use the car seat or booster seat owner’s manual to check installation and the seat height/weight limits, and proper seat use. Child safety seat recommendations: American Academy of Pediatrics. Graphic design: adapted from National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

 

 

Powered By Revize Login