Vaccinations and Rabies Control Program
Under Wisconsin State Statute 95.21(2)(a) , all dogs are required to be vaccinated against rabies and owners may face up to a $100 fine for failure to vaccinate dog.
What happens when a dog or cat bite occurs?
The local health officer shall require any dog or cat that bites a person to be quarantined for 10 days so that it can be observed for signs of Rabies per Wisconsin State Statute 95.21(4)(a). If the dog or cat is vaccinated, it may remain in the owner’s home for the duration of the quarantine period. During the 10-day quarantine period, the dog or cat will need to be examined by a licensed veterinarian on the 1st day, the 10th day, and one intervening day of the quarantine period. If the animal is not current on its rabies vaccine, it will need to be quarantined at a licensed facility at the owner's expense. Reminder: Dogs and Cats are required to be licensed annually. In order to license your dog or cat, it must be vaccinated against rabies.
To view the complete Wisconsin State Statute for Rabies Control Program, click here.
How to I decrease my exposure to rabies?
- Eliminate stray dogs and cats and enforce leash laws.
- Vaccinate pet dogs, cats, ferrets, and livestock against rabies.
- Stay away from all wild animals, especially those acting abnormally.
- Teach your children not to approach any unfamiliar animals.
- Do not keep exotic or wild animals as pets, regardless of how young or cute they are.
- Exclude bats from living quarters by keeping screens in good repair and by closing any small openings that could allow them to enter.
- Persons traveling to developing countries in which rabies is highly prevalent, or persons who are at ongoing risk of possible rabies exposure (e.g., veterinarians, animal control officers), should ask their doctor about receiving the PRE-exposure rabies vaccinations.
Rabies Fact Sheet (English)
Rabies Fact Sheet (Spanish)
Information for Pets
Pet License for Cudahy Residents
Service Animal Information
Disaster Preparedness for Pets